We offer high-level diagnostics and counselling.

We assist in evaluating genetic risks.

We are focussed on your needs.

We identify the genetic cause of your disease.

We act responsibly in one of the most dynamic fields of medicine.

Genetic Counselling

Genetics play an important role in many human diseases. We assist you in finding causes and identifying risks.

Reasons

Procedure

Special Expertise

Molecular Genetic Diagnostics

Depending on the clinical question and the purpose of the analysis we offer the appropriate diagnostics.

Diagnostics

Purpose

Offerings

Special Expertise


We are there for you

Our team of board-certified medical geneticists, scientists and technicians provides a comprehensive genetic service including genetic counselling and molecular diagnosis for patients and their families.

About Us

Our special expertise

Our team at the Senckenberg Centre for Human Genetics conducts genetic counselling and diagnostic analyses for virtually every genetic disorder. However, there are areas of special expertise concerning particular disease groups - namely deafness, eye diseases, neurogenetic disorders (including developmental delay/mental retardation), congenital malformation syndromes and genetic tumour predisposition. There has been long-standing diagnostic and scientific activity of our physicians and scientists, and the latter is reflected by the identification of several new genes associated with isolated and syndromic hearing impairment, retinal degeneration and various syndromes.

Deafness

Hearing loss is the most common sensory deficit in humans, affecting approximately 1 in 500 newborns. Deafness has a genetic basis in two-thirds of patients.

Further reading

Inherited eye diseases

Many eye diseases have a genetic basis. The knowledge of the underlying gene defect has far-reaching consequences for the individual medical care and guidance of patients and their families.

Further reading

Hereditary Cancers

Familial clustering of cancers may indicate that hereditary factors play an important role for cancer development in such families. Genetic counselling and molecular genetic diagnostics may enable targeted preventive screening measures and might be important for individual treatment in some tumour entities.

Further reading

Disorders of the nervous system

Numerous disorders of the nervous system may be due to genetic causes and they may be part of a syndrome affecting other organs. A genetic diagnosis may avoid stressful examinations and pave the way for an anticipatory disease management or even therapeutic options.

Further reading

Malignant hyperthermia

Malignant hyperthermia (MH) is a hereditary metabolic myopathy triggered by certain anaesthetics. The molecular genetic testing in patients with suspected MH and the predictive genetic testing of at-risk asymptomatic family members enables an accurate diagnosis with just a blood sample.

Further reading

That's where you find us

Address

Senckenberg Centre for Human Genetics
of Facharztzentrum Frankfurt-Nordend gGmbH
Weismüllerstraße 50
60314 Frankfurt am Main
Germany

T. +49 69 4089679-0
F. +49 69 4089679-13
info@senckenberg-humangenetik.de

Consultation hours

Monday – Friday
9.00  a. m. – 5.00 p. m.

Wir bieten Ihnen Diagnostik und Beratung auf höchstem Niveau.

Wir helfen Ihnen, genetische Risiken einzuschätzen.

Ihre Fragen stehen bei uns im Fokus.

Wir identifizieren Ihre genetischen Krankheitsursachen.

Wir arbeiten mit Verantwortung in einem der dynamischsten Felder der Medizin.

Kompetente human-genetische Beratung

Erbliche Faktoren spielen bei vielen Erkrankungen eine bedeutende Rolle. Wir helfen Ihnen, Ursachen zu finden und potenzielle Risiken abzuklären.

Anlass

Ziele

Inhalte

Ablauf

Schwerpunkte

Molekulargenetische Diagnostik auf höchstem Niveau

Jede Fragestellung bedarf einer passend zugeschnittenen Untersuchung. Wir haben die richtige Diagnostikvariante für Ihr Anliegen.

Diagnostik

Zweck

Leistungsangebot

Schwerpunkte

Anforderungsformular

Diagnostische und klinische Schwerpunkte

Das Team des Senckenberg Zentrums für Humangenetik führt humangenetische Beratungen und molekulargenetische Diagnostik für praktisch alle genetisch bedingten Erkrankungen durch. Bestimmte Erkrankungen stellen jedoch besondere Schwerpunkte des Zentrums dar. Hierbei handelt es sich insbesondere um Hörstörungen, Augen-, neurogenetische- und Tumorerkrankungen, sowie angeborene Fehlbildungssyndrome. Unsere Ärzte und Wissenschaftler beschäftigen sich seit vielen Jahren nicht nur diagnostisch, sondern auch wissenschaftlich intensiv mit diesen Erkrankungen. Im Zuge dessen wurden zahlreiche neue Gene für isolierte und syndromale Hörstörungen, Netzhautdegenerationen und verschiedene Syndrome identifiziert.

Hörstörungen

Hörstörungen stellen die häufigste Erkrankung der Sinnesorgane des Menschen dar. Etwa eines von 500 Neugeborenen ist davon betroffen. Rund zwei Drittel der Hörstörungen sind genetisch bedingt.

Weiterlesen

Erbliche Augenerkrankungen

Viele Augenerkrankungen können erblich bedingt sein. Die Kenntnis des ursächlichen Gendefekts hat weitreichende Auswirkungen auf die individuelle Betreuung und Beratung von Patienten und deren Familien.

Weiterlesen

Erbliche Tumorerkrankungen

Dem familiär gehäuften Auftreten bestimmter Krebsarten liegen oft genetische Ursachen zugrunde. Eine molekulargenetische Diagnostik ermöglicht nicht nur eine gezielte Früherkennung, sondern kann unter Umständen auch präventive Behandlungen indizieren.

Weiterlesen

Störungen des Nervensystems

Viele Störungen des Nervensystems haben genetische Ursachen und können Teil eines Syndroms sein. Die genetische Diagnostik kann Patienten belastende Untersuchungen ersparen und einen vorausschauenden Umgang mit der Krankheit oder auch eine Therapie ermöglichen.

Weiterlesen

Maligne Hyperthermie

Bei der malignen Hyperthermie (MH) handelt es sich um eine erblich bedingte, durch bestimmte Narkosemedikamente ausgelöste Stoffwechselstörung des Skelettmuskels. Die genetische Diagnostik hilft Patienten mit MH-Verdacht und ihren bisher unauffälligen Familienmitgliedern.

Weiterlesen

Wir sind für Sie da – vor Ort in Frankfurt

Unser Team aus Fachärzten für Humangenetik, Wissenschaftlern und technischen Assistenten berät und unterstützt Menschen mit erblich bedingten Erkrankungen und deren Familien. Zudem sind Menschen, die Ihr genetisches Erkrankungsrisiko abschätzen wollen, bei uns in den besten Händen.

Über uns

Hier finden Sie uns

Adresse

Senckenberg Zentrum für Humangenetik
Facharztzentrum Frankfurt-Nordend gGmbH
Weismüllerstraße 50
60314 Frankfurt am Main

T. + 49 69 4089679-0
F. + 49 69 4089679-13
info@remove.this.senckenberg-humangenetik.de

Sprechzeiten

Montag – Freitag
9.00 – 17.00 Uhr